Contact Us

Gary Johnson
Vice President

Strategic Planning and
Special Initiatives, TBC

Home 604-597-7237
Mobile 778-995-3703

David Milburn
Learning Center

Tel: 604-647-2211

Neil Stajkowski
Secretary Treasurer

Tel: (604) 831-8408

Steve Henson
Vice President

Benevolence, Dental, Grievance, & Winners Foundation

Home 604-435-5807
Mobile 604-764-7918

Lorne Mitchell
Race Office Liaison

Tel: 778-710-7412 ​

Breeders Corner

CTHS British Columbia Web Site
#7 - 5492 - Production Blvd.
Surrey, B.C. V3S 8P5
(604) 534 -0145 
FAX: (604) 534-CTHS (2847)

President: Grant Watson
34866 Sandon Place
Abbotsford, BC V3G 1G4
604.746.2494  Cell:204.558.2494

New Stride

PO Box 10020 RPO Otter Co-op
Langley, BC  V4W 3Z5 Canada

President: Bill Randall
Phone: 778-985-5673  

Hastings Race Office

604.216.5220 Toll Free: 1-877-977-7702
Racing Office Fax: 604.216.5228

Nichelle Milner

Racing Secretary

D: 604 216 1605 / C: 778 389 3157

Racing Office Hours

Non-Race Days: Wednesday & Thursday
 7:00 am to 2:00 pm

Non-Race Days: Friday – 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Race Days: Friday – 8:00 am to last race

Race Days: Saturday, Sunday & Holidays
7:00 am to last race

Closed : Non-Holiday Mondays & Tuesdays

Horsemen’s Bookkeeper
604.216.5226 or email:

The National HBPA, Inc

870 Corporate Drive  Suite 300
Lexington, KY 40503-5419


Phone: 859-259-0451
Toll Free: 866-245-1711
Fax: 859-259-0452


All racing images are copyright protected and are the property of Michael Bye except archived Hastings images which are public domain.
Other copyright images that may be posted in the future will have photo credits whenever possible.

​Michael Bye

HBPA Website and Newsletter, Racing
Financials and Horse Population Analysis


Tel: 604-562-3706 ​

2018 Thoroughbred Awards


​​​25-year consecutive membership to CTHS:

Dave Bennington, Black Canyon Thoroughbreds, George Gilbert, Dan Lee and Mel Snow


Equine Insurance trophy for the breeder of the Sadie Diamond Futurity winner:

Winner: Dancin Shoes  Breeder: Mr. & Mrs. David H. Pihl


Marsh and McLennan trophy for the breeder of the Jack Diamond Futurity winner:

Winner: Dat Day  Breeder: Canyon Farms


Champion Juvenile Sire for 2018: Stephanotis 


Champion Sire for 2018: Rosberg 


Champion Broodmare for 2018: Dreams Start Here


Leading Breeder for 2018: Tod Mtn. Thoroughbreds 

Hall of Fame Inductees: Leif Nordahl, The Dittloff Family (Ed, Gladys and Karen Dittloff)

Leading Jockey: Amadeo Perez


Leading Apprentice Jockey: Lenny Seecharan

Leading Trainer: Philip Hall

Leading Owner: North American Thoroughbred Horse Company, Inc.

HBPA Backstretch Person of the Year Award: Erick Gutierrez Alvina Helfenstein:

Lower Level Claimer of the Year (under $15,000) Shooting Jacket Owner: Hastings Racing Club Trainer: Keith Pedersen

Breeder: Hargus Sexton, Sandra Sexton & Silver Fern Farm, LLC

Upper Level Claimer of the Year (over $15,000) Under Par Owner:
Canmor Farms and Maureen Goss Trainer: Mark Cloutier  Breeder: Glen Todd

Champion 2-Year-Old Filly B.C. Bred Division  Dancin Shoes
Owner: David and Delaurlyn Pihl  Trainer: Barbara Heads  Breeder: Mr. & Mrs. David H. Pihl

Champion 2-Year-Old Filly Open Division Summerland Owner: George Gilbert Trainer: Philip Hall

Breeder: Tres Hombres & George Gilbert

Champion 2-Year-Old Male  B.C. Bred Division  Dat Day  Owner: Canyon Farms  Trainer: Craig MacPherson  Breeder: Canyon Farms


Champion 2-Year-Old Male Open Division Explode  Owner: Canmor Farms  Trainer: Mark Cloutier  Breeder: Flaxman Holdings Limited. 

Champion 3-Year-Old Filly  B.C. Bred & Open Divisions  Here’s Hannah

Owner: B C Stables and Paul L. Caravetta   Trainer: John D. Morrison  Breeder: B.C. Stables

Champion 3-Year-Old Male  B.C. Bred & Open Divisions  Weekend Wizard  Owner: Riversedge Racing Stables, Ltd.

Trainer: Craig MacPherson  Breeder: Foundation Racing Stable

Champion Older Filly/Mare  B.C. Bred Division  Notis the Jewell

Owner: Mark Fielding, Larry Fielding, Cherie Moryson and Chris Derose Trainer: Larry E. Fielding  Breeder: Len Fielding 

Champion Older Filly/Mare  Open Division  Victress  Owner: Victoria and Robert Gilker

Trainer: Robert Gilker Breeder: Judy B. Hicks

Champion Older Male  B.C. Bred Division Driller

Owner: Don B. Danard and Mel Snow  Trainer: Mel Snow  Breeder: Mel & Fran Snow


Champion Older Male Open Division  Calgary Caper

Owner: Kim Peacock, Philip Hall and Lance Giesbrecht  Trainer: Philip Hall  Breeder: Robert J. Harris and Mary Harris


Champion Sprinter  Blue Law  Owner: Tim M. Bankers  Trainer: Cindy Krasner

Breeder: Buck Pond Farm, Inc. 

B.C. Bred Horse of the Year  Here’s Hannah 
Owner: B C Stables and Paul L. Caravetta   Trainer: John D. Morrison  Breeder: B.C. Stables 

Open Horse of the Year Here’s Hannah  Owner: B C Stables and Paul L. Caravetta  Trainer: John D. Morrison   Breeder: B.C. Stables